#5 You Know You’re Filipino If You Call The Refrigerator a “Frigidaire”

You also:

  1. call any toothpaste, colgate
  2. diapers are pampers
  3. photocopies are xerox
  4. detergents are tide

The list goes on. If you ask me why this came about, I can’t answer you. I really do not know. But this is what I do know:

As brands go, Filipinos are surprisingly literate. Longchamp bags are extremely popular nowadays even with the fact that they cost at least 7,000 pesos apiece. Why? Try going to a tiangge. You’ll find genuine-looking Longchamps at around 150-200 pesos.

Gone are the days when Esprit knock-offs are labeled “Espirit”and Jansport fakes are “Joesports”. What you’ll see are carefully made knock-offs with clean edges. They may not be made in the Philippines but they sure are infamously famous.

I know the moral discrepancies of piracy. But I can’t help noticing it. It has become a way of life.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “#5 You Know You’re Filipino If You Call The Refrigerator a “Frigidaire”

  1. Very interesting post. I know what you mean by knock-offs that are carefully-crafted to the point that you can’t tell them apart from the original. Will never buy any of them, though.

    • Thank you! Some knock-off are even tougher than the originals! I have been guilty of buying them in the past,though. But I’m trying to change and this article is part of my changing phase🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Chie's Journey to the Land of OZ

Not your ordinary tale of venturing through life. © 2014 . All Rights Reserved .

The Jesuit Music Ministry

New Sounds for the Present Generation

TheFurFiles

the Raynor family unleashed...

Taste of life by Sabi

I've divorced my fears, and now I'm marrying my dreams. Welcome to The Happy Zone! :)

Zenith Subs

Sharing Softsubs for Download

KORmerica

Korean Entertainment for Americans

adventures of kulet!

laugh, love, live!

Movie Garden

Movie Club Online, Always Update Site For Upcoming Movies, New Release Movies News!

Dream, Live, Grow

A rather more legible scrawl compared to my last journal

